Disassemble begins..again!

What a day. It started yesterday I guess.

When I was boarding in Auckland I was feeling decidedly dodgy. Bu the time we got airbourne I was a bit shaky and nauseous. I wasn't going to eat but when I got back from changing I had some soup waiting so I ate it. It helped a bit. I left the rest and went to sleep. Got a great sleep. Boy 8 hours of sleep cuts the guts out of a 12 hour flight.

After we landed and cleared customs, I jumped on the bus to Bellanca Ave and picked up the car. Gee, Enterprise have a slick operation.

It took about two hours to get to Chino where frank was waiting. I was starting to feel bad again but we managed to drain the Falco and relocate the gas to Frank's Viking. By then it was dark so I checked in to the hotel and shortly after went to sleep. I woke up at 4am in a pool of sweat. I had been running a fever but I think it had broken. It indicated a tough day ahead but sometime you gotta do what ya gotta do and this was one of those times.

I opened the hangar doors around 07:30 and started the disassembly.

Not long after starting.

I had just started when I learnt that by a stroke of Luck, Troy was in town so was on his way out to help.

Troy. Mustang driver extraordinaire.

He was fantastic. I had planned to be able to do everything myself and anything extra would be a bonus. I didn't realise just how much of a bonus. It was really easy moving the heavy stuff around so we made some huge progress. I think I've got two days work done in one day.

Not bad for one day.

Awesome progress.

I'm now miles ahead, which is great.

We've rearranged the packing a bit in the hope to fit things better and hopefully have a more satisfactory engine mounting solution. Everything is pretty close to its final position so tomorrow I shouldn't need much heavy work. Fantastic. Thanks Troy!

End of a big day. Phew!

18:20 and I'm just back in my room. Looking forward to seeing Vicki tomorrow and also meeting Walter and seeing my new bird. Vicki and I can take our time more too so can spend the night at Danta Monica or somewhere similar.

 

 

About falcogeorge

I live in New Zealand with my lovely wife Vicki along with our animals on a block of land in Helensville. Back in 1994 I had this crazy idea to build a plane. Since then its been a huge part of my life. My day job has varied over the years. I started out as a computer engineer and now I'm an airline pilot. Namely an Airbus A320 Captain. You would think that would tire me of flying but airline flying isn't really flying. The small planes are fun and make me remember why I started flying in the first place. This blog is a demonstration of some of the crazy ideas that pop into my head from time to time. The way I see it, life is too short to not give these wild ideas a go. I don't mind if people think I'm crazy. I probably am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Disassemble begins..again!

  1. Vicki says:

    Awesome!!!! What a trouper Troy!

Leave a Reply

