Skippin’ Town

A quiet night in Jackson Hole. We were lucky enough to meet briefly with Alfred's Daughter Sara and her husband Stephen and thier gorgeous little daughter Elisabeth for a brief drink. After that we ventured into town for a quick meal and returned for an early night.

We were both looking forward to a great sleep in our flash separate rooms. Big comfy beds, flat screen TV, you name it. But did it happen? Nope. I had a fairly broken sleep and Derwood reported similar. I was awake at 05:00 so I had a look at the weather. I was ready to go by 06:20 so I rang Darryn and he was ready to go too. We headed for the airport. It was a touch chilly at 8 degrees at that time of the morning. Typical alpine weather.

The rental car girl said it was beautiful at the airport at 5am as there was a big thunderstorm brewing West of the Tetons with the lightning adding to the beauty. I wasn't that impressed as I could see the storm moving closer so we were keen to split ASAP yet again.

Back at the FBO Darryn had everything all set so we walked along the line of Business jets to our ride and got it ready for departure. At 07:30 local Darryn was pushing the throttle in as it was just starting to hail lightly at the arrival end of the runway. We rolled clear of the weather on the takeoff roll and climbed into beautiful clear skies.

At our selected cruising altitude of 8500' we were below the tops of the terrain but it was fairly easy navigation through some fairly mild valleys. The scenery as we headed south from Wyoming into Utah was absolutely beautiful in the morning light with nature showing us all the colours of the rainbow in the terrain as it slipped on by.

Our Destination had changed. Initially I had planned Provo but everyone we told about it could only respond with 'Oh'. That did it for us. So the day's destination was Cedar City Utah, which was initially only an alternate. This particular flight was bound for a tech stop in a little town called Nephi. I had chosen this as a tech stop earlier on since Provo was charging around $6.70 a gallon for 100LL but Nephi, just 10 minutes further on was down at around $5.25 provided you pump it yourself. That was good enough for me. I mean the gas at any price is cheaper than home but there is no point in throwing money away. And anyhow, we prefer the smaller town to stop at anyhow.

As we approached Provo from the East we had the mountains to contend with. There is a very beautiful canyon just East of Provo, aptly named Provo Canyon that we headed for. The weather was great and the wind light. The majesty of this area has to be seen. Certainly an iPhone camera doesn't do it justice.

We flew through the canyon at 8500' with peaks 3500' above us on either side. Unbelievable and indescribable. Derwood did a great job at not smiling but I couldn't help it. It was nature at its best and seeing the terrain open out to Provo City and the lake beyond was stunning.

From the exit of the canyon we hugged the edge of the cliffs to avoid Provo class D. We were above it but we wanted to be sure and it was fun, but don't tell anyone.

Within minutes we were on descent into Provo for a well earned leg stretch. We gassed up, chatted to the pilot of an executive jet who was waiting for his customers to return from their business.

One hour had passed all too soon so we jumped in and headed for Cedar City just an hour down the line.

 

 

About falcogeorge

I live in New Zealand with my lovely wife Vicki along with our animals on a block of land in Helensville. Back in 1994 I had this crazy idea to build a plane. Since then its been a huge part of my life. My day job has varied over the years. I started out as a computer engineer and now I'm an airline pilot. Namely an Airbus A320 Captain. You would think that would tire me of flying but airline flying isn't really flying. The small planes are fun and make me remember why I started flying in the first place. This blog is a demonstration of some of the crazy ideas that pop into my head from time to time. The way I see it, life is too short to not give these wild ideas a go. I don't mind if people think I'm crazy. I probably am.
This entry was posted in Falco, USA, Wyoming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skippin’ Town

  1. Vicki says:

    kind like going to Whitianga but NOT lol….looks amazing….

Leave a Reply

