Never Forget your dreams

A fairly broken sleep last night. There is a motorcycle convention just down the road at Sturgis and the Hells Angels picked the same hotel as us. They were actually fine with a couple of exceptions at around 02:30. So we've been a bit tired.

We left around 07:15 and went for coffee again at the green bean. After coffee we set of on our drive through the Black Hills in search of Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore.

The drive through the hills was very pleasant although we both agreed, it was a lot like home. We could easily have been driving down through Kiangaroa State forest or even parts of Old North Road for that matter.

We did pass a couple of lovely lakes though that would be a great stop if you had a boat in tow.

 

 

What I liked best about the drive were the little towns. They hadn't changed a lot from the old cowboy days. You could just picture the dusty streets with horses at the hitching post outside the Tavern. Or perhaps the sheriff sitting outside the jail with a couple of six shooters strapped on.

 

The first stop was Crazy Horse. What an incredible achievement. I won't go into too much detail , I would recommend looking at http://crazyhorsememorial.org but the basic facts are these.

 

 

 

What the completed carving will be like

The monument is the tallest in the world at 563' high, starting at around 6000' elevation.

I confess to not being fussed about going to crazy horse. I'm pleased I did. I found it fascinating that one person, followed by one family could think so big that they could take on such a massive project alone and in the knowledge that they old never see it completed. Even I won't see it completed.

I found it actually a bit emotional and moving. It's a must see. The whole display is very well set up.

I was extremely impressed.

Next stop, Mt Rushmore.

This too is a very impressive monument. Not to the same scale as Crazy Horse, and now complete I guess, but is impressive nonetheless. It's one of those things that you see on TV or in movies but don't really appreciate it until you are standing underneath it.

As a more complete display there is a really nice trail to follow for various vantage points and other displays. It's marked as a strenuous trail. If it was at sea level it would be such a big deal but you do notice the difference up at 6000' odd.

It was great to see both monuments and they both are must see attractions but if I could pick only one I think I'd go with Crazy Horse. Again, moving! I love the catch phrase too. 'Dreams and Dynamite'.

Always reminded of Derwood

Tomorrow we are off to Lander in Wyoming for one night. Then Jackson Hole for two!

 

About falcogeorge

I live in New Zealand with my lovely wife Vicki along with our animals on a block of land in Helensville. Back in 1994 I had this crazy idea to build a plane. Since then its been a huge part of my life. My day job has varied over the years. I started out as a computer engineer and now I'm an airline pilot. Namely an Airbus A320 Captain. You would think that would tire me of flying but airline flying isn't really flying. The small planes are fun and make me remember why I started flying in the first place. This blog is a demonstration of some of the crazy ideas that pop into my head from time to time. The way I see it, life is too short to not give these wild ideas a go. I don't mind if people think I'm crazy. I probably am.
This entry was posted in sightseeing, South Dakota, USA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never Forget your dreams

  1. vickikenny960 says:

    Amazing…. I get it now – wasn’t sure what the significance was of the marble carving…. but WOW… blimey – how do you do something like that? Crazy… who did the Mt Rushmore carvings? How long ago?

    • falcogeorge says:

      Forgot when they started. A team of guys. No mean feat in itself since, like Crazy Horse, it’s mainly done with dynamite but as far as people is concerned, more must be better.

      • StephJOhnstone says:

        The mind boggles. How can you be accurate using dynamite for a something like this?

Leave a Reply

