Spearfish

The night at Pierre was interesting in that we got to see the other side of America. Everyone seemed to be on a low. We went into Subway since there wasn’t a lot of choice. I’ve never seen such a collection of depression.

So anyhow. We got up around 7 and headed out to Mustang Aviation to fly to Spearfish. It’s a 1 hour flight and has a 1 hour time change so we arrived about when we left. The terrain along the way was flat and parched with not even a lot of farming. The winds were fairly strong at our selected cruising altitude of 4500′ but it was smooth contrary to the forecast.

The wind kicked up a bit of dust haze, but as we approached Spearfish the haze cleared to reveal a lovely rolling terrain covered with Pine trees.

Spearfish (Black Hills airfield actually) is in a small basin and is very pretty. It’s a small airport but in keeping with most places we’ve already seen, the airport is extremely well kept.

We taxied in to be met, as is common, by a marshaller. This time the marshaller was a young girl called Maddy.

Maddy expertly directed us to our overnight parking spot. As we shut down she greeted us with a big smile offering any assistance we might need. Fuel, tie downs, etc. I didn’t even get the phone out to close the plan and a car drove up behind the aircraft. “are you George?” .. It was Laura bringing out our rental car. Wow, what service. She even opened the truck so we could transfer our bags directly into the car.

Maddy raced off to get the fuel truck and I rang up to close the flight plan.

As I mentioned our registration to the briefer, he  said ” Wow, I’ve spoken to you guys 3 times now. Once on the radio and twice on the phone.” he was super friendly. He said he used to live in Spearfish so proceeded to give me a great rundown on activities in the area. He was great.

I swear America is the friendliest place on the planet by far.

Once we got the plane tied down we went into the office to sign for the car. Laura then handed us several maps and showed us the best way to see what we wanted and suggested several eating spots. What great service. New Zealand aviation and service has so much to learn.

We headed off to check into our hotel and get some food.

As per Laura’s recommendation we headed to the Green Bean and enjoyed a great breakfast in a lovely setting.

After breakfast we had some time to kill so we decided to head about 45min South to Ellsworth Airforce Base to the museum. It’s an active Bone ( B1) base. While we were there we went on a tour of a training ICBM missile silo. Quite an experience. We even needed our passports for security clearance as its on an active base.

A fun day so far.

Unfortunately the wifi at the hotel is broken so we are at Starbucks typing this up. Updates might be scarce until we get more reliable Internet.

About falcogeorge

I live in New Zealand with my lovely wife Vicki along with our animals on a block of land in Helensville. Back in 1994 I had this crazy idea to build a plane. Since then its been a huge part of my life. My day job has varied over the years. I started out as a computer engineer and now I'm an airline pilot. Namely an Airbus A320 Captain. You would think that would tire me of flying but airline flying isn't really flying. The small planes are fun and make me remember why I started flying in the first place. This blog is a demonstration of some of the crazy ideas that pop into my head from time to time. The way I see it, life is too short to not give these wild ideas a go. I don't mind if people think I'm crazy. I probably am.
This entry was posted in South Dakota, USA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spearfish

  1. vickikenny960 says:

    not a place you’d want to live then…lol

Leave a Reply

