Interviews and Seaplanes.

Caught the early bus again. The day started out cool.

Got a few things done which included visiting flight service for a weather brief. Looks like it should be ok for us.

Caught up with Pricey again fortunately. Haven't seen as much of him as I would have liked. After doing a few chores I wandered back to the plane in time to catch up with Duane and Mary just as they were leaving.

Duane's lovely machine

Nice ride!

It was sad to see them go. I helped pull his gorgeous Falco down to the taxiway and waved goodbye as they taxied away.

12:15 I had my first radio interview. I was a bit nervous at first but Bob 'the homebuilder' was a great guy and made me feel at ease. I really enjoyed it.

Fast tin

SX300

Who said an aeroplane needs to be symmetrical

After the radio interview I had a quick sandwich and caught up with Derwood and Pricey again for a trip to he seaplane base.

Walking to seaplanes

Seaplanes

What a really lovely spot. Really relaxing and picturesque. It's definitely worth the trip. We went for a trip out on the boat for a look around the seaplanes. The heat was starting to crank again so being on the water was nice even though little relief.

On the return to the airfield I got a call from Budd Davisson requesting an interview for a slot in sport aviation. Darryn and I were planning on leaving but I had to meet Budd. I've read so many of his articles. He's flown so many different types of planes and written so many flight reports on different planes. His little finger will know more about planes than I ever will.

Turbine RV10

RV14- basically an RV9 for fat people!:-)

New Tiger!

What an honour to meet him let alone be interviewed by him. He is a real aviation icon.

After my interview I was hot an tired so I caught the bus back to the hotel for a beer.

Throughout the day we decided it was time to move on so tomorrow we will depart to begin our trek back west.

Scary walk back to the hotel

 

About falcogeorge

I live in New Zealand with my lovely wife Vicki along with our animals on a block of land in Helensville. Back in 1994 I had this crazy idea to build a plane. Since then its been a huge part of my life. My day job has varied over the years. I started out as a computer engineer and now I'm an airline pilot. Namely an Airbus A320 Captain. You would think that would tire me of flying but airline flying isn't really flying. The small planes are fun and make me remember why I started flying in the first place. This blog is a demonstration of some of the crazy ideas that pop into my head from time to time. The way I see it, life is too short to not give these wild ideas a go. I don't mind if people think I'm crazy. I probably am.
This entry was posted in Falco, Oshkosh, USA, Wisconsin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

