More shopping

We started early again today.

The weather was a lot more friendly. I went shopping again looking at the innovations and also looked for some spark plugs.

I bought a set of fine wire spark plugs. Nearly fainted at the price but I'm hoping they will be an improvement. Frankly I'm not convinced but we'll see.

I also bought a new wallet. I hat fat wallets (I don't mind them if it's because they have lots of money in them) so I bought a 'big skinny' which I like a lot. I tried out lots of headsets and I frankly just can't see the value in the high prices. I find the Bose uncomfortable and the Lightspeed is too wide, which would hit the canopy. I think the prices are way over the top for what they are and they are simply charging the big prices because people will pay. I want to like them but I just can't bring myself to. In reality, my experiment with the cheapest available ANRs with better ear cushions has worked out well. When I fly I NEVER think about them so I think that is success. They cost me about $150 each. I'm quite sure there isn't another $900 worth of value in the big player's headsets and in fact I'm fairly sure I'd be disappointed. I keep my money for a new iPhone later this year.

The rest of the day was meeting up with friends from Facebook or via other friends and an EAA interview. They weren't interested about the shipping angle, more the plane. I haven't entered it for judging. It isn't at it's best so I couldn't see the point.

EAA interview

Here are a few snaps from the day.

Derwood and Pricey

Cessna have just released the 182 NXT. It's diesel powered so runs on Jet A. That in itself isn't new of course but it is becoming a big issue. I think it will be very popular. I was very impressed with it. The build quality was excellent and it looks like a really nice machine.

Nice installation.

Specs. Prob exaggerated as usual

The power plant

Ford also had a really nice looking electric concept car there. I want one!

Pilatus sold a PC12 while I was looking around.

I was looking around Piper and it dawned on me that Cessna and Piper have very little in common these days. No longer are they battling head to head in the market. They each have their own niche and very little overlap.

This Matrix is a lovely machine

The Malibu series I guess you would all them have been transformed. While the Matrix is very Malibu like (and still a really nice ship) the Meridian is really in a new class. While its competing with the likes of the TBM (which I think I prefer) it's a really nice ride! The Matrix and Mirage really are more in their own market and deserve to be popular. They really are lovely aeroplanes. The build quality is really nice. I spent quite a while marvelling at the wing to figure out how it's built and how they get such a great finish on traditional materials. I'm not sure I entirely figured it out. I needed to get the un on just the right angle to get hints on construction technique.

I really enjoyed myself today. I started with no agenda and so I wasn't disappointed. I spent a fair amount of time on my own but I liked it. I'm going early again tomorrow.

About falcogeorge

I live in New Zealand with my lovely wife Vicki along with our animals on a block of land in Helensville. Back in 1994 I had this crazy idea to build a plane. Since then its been a huge part of my life. My day job has varied over the years. I started out as a computer engineer and now I'm an airline pilot. Namely an Airbus A320 Captain. You would think that would tire me of flying but airline flying isn't really flying. The small planes are fun and make me remember why I started flying in the first place. This blog is a demonstration of some of the crazy ideas that pop into my head from time to time. The way I see it, life is too short to not give these wild ideas a go. I don't mind if people think I'm crazy. I probably am.
This entry was posted in Falco, Oshkosh, USA, Wisconsin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

